Posted by: suesilver | January 22, 2013

NEW POEMS

It is already well into 2013 and I am so behind in posting something new for you, my dear readers. So here are a couple of new poems and a photograph I just took. I have begun a photographic study of this road not too far from my home.
I am doing some black and white photographs as well getting ready for our big Jefferson County Photographers Show in May when I will have to have 8 silver black and white photographs ready.
I love working with film it is so exciting. You don’t have that immediate gratification that you have with digital,this is true, however, it makes one work harder really understanding how photography works.

Trough Rd, Jefferson County,WV

Trough Rd, Jefferson County,WV

Here are a couple of the Black and white photographs our JCP show last fall.
Gargoyle, Jefferson County, WV

 

THE BOOK

I will never give up the book for the box

That cold steel under my fingers

Devoid of bookish personality

Page and font, perfume of age and type

A heft and hue only to itself.

I will never give up the book for the

Kindle or some other mock marvel

in that vein – no cover art to gaze upon

with each reading of the book,

no writing in the margins, no torn page

no date due stamps on the back,

no greeting on the front, no birthday memories

in a gentle hand ” to my dear Anna.”

No special binding holding volumes

of pages to their place, just a box

of metal, for other people, not me.

I will never give up the book.

( Published in The Anthology of Appalachian Writers Bobbie Ann Mason Volume III )

 

POND FISHING IN WEST VIRGINIA

I fish for hours

casting where greenness,

reflections of the sky and trees,

fill my eye.

I walk the path around the pond

casting near the old log.

The wind brings perfumes of humid air

and the leafy pond.

Better than Chanel to me.

A fish jumps by the reeds.

I cast and reel, cast and reel – not one fish bites.

Not even the leaping bass.

( Published in The Anthology of Appalachian Writers  Ron Rash Volume IV )

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. I love the long tree shadows formed by the light. Was it morning or evening light?

    • It was about 3:30 pm . My plan is to get photos at different times and seasons.
      The long shadows are wonderful aren’t they.

      • What a great idea that is to keep going back at different times and seasons and what a beautifully photographic area you have chosen for the excercise. It will make a lovely collage at the end of the year


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 323 other followers

