Listen to Your Soul

This is the blogging of a friend’s article in the Times Union of Albany ,New York

LISTEN TO THE CALL OF YOUR SOUL

By Mary Sise

The cover story in the Atlantic Monthly by Anne- Marie Slaughter, a Princeton professor and former deputy to Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, pondering if it is possible for women to ” have it all” has struck a chord among working mothers around America.

I remember those same feelings in the ’80s when I was in graduate school with three small children at home. I had finished my final paper and was utterly exhausted. After waiting in line for a half-hour with other students for the only copy machine around( there were no computers in those days), I put a Chuck E. Cheese’s token in the machine, jamming it. I can still see myself slithering off, hoping by the time the jam was discovered I would be long gone, wondering for the millionth time- Is it really worth it? 

Years’s later, with a master’s degree in social work, a busy therapy practice, successful adult children and a loving husband, I was “living the dream” that many women were instructed to attain. So why did I feel something was missing?

What was that nagging emptiness deep in my being? Then my younger sister died suddenly leaving two small children, and 9/11 soon followed. I was jarred out of my complacency.

I had no idea that the voice of my soul was calling me. All I knew was that the responsible, know-it-all, control freak that I was had come to a dead-end. Somewhere inside my psyche I had to face this restless longing for…something. I went to church regularly, and as a therapist I was doing” God’s work,”but there was no real surrender, no real faith in God. I was directing everything with my “I can do it”

I began to search. I read books that told me to : live in the now, have faith, surrender, trust. I attended self-help lectures and weekend workshops and read more books.. Then I met Her Holiness Sai Maa.A living saint( this was news to me since I am Catholic, and our saints are dead.) and the first woman in the 5000-year-old Vedic Hindu tradition to be honored as a Jagadguru, Sai Maa became a living example for me. Her life is one of surrender to the will of God, and she showed me that life flows when God is in charge.

Sai Maa cracked through the tough exterior of my arrogance to release the fear of being vulnerable that was hiding deep within. She challenged me” How can God work through you if you know it all?”

Little by little, I learned to meditate and get out of my own way. I learned that I am always connected to the divine, just not always aligned with it. I learned to listen to that still, small voice of my soul that Scripture speaks of. The incessant grasping for something outside of me subsided and began to be replaced by the intensity of God’s love burning within me.

 

SO maybe the question we should be asking ourselves is: What really is having it all? Perhaps it’s not ever about career versus family and measuring by the external markers of more stuff, more awards, more kids, more promotions, more… more…more. To me, the question of “having it all” is irrelevant to anything measurable. It is irrelevant to career and family. Having it all naturally flows from hearing and discerning the voice of your soul that tells you who you really are, what is true, and what you are here on this planet to do. Once you are in alignment with your soul, you will have it all. Whatever that “all ” turns out to be for you.

No one can tell you what the voice of your soul is saying. You have to sit and listen. It comes quietly whispering, ” Yes, this is right for me.” You feel your heart expand. You can’t lose it, and you can’t earn it. It is freely given. That is the God within you. Like a necklace that never left your neck, it was there all the time. We already have it all. Just listen.

Mary Sise is co-author of “The Energy of Belief: Psychology’s Power Tools to Focus Intention & Release Blocking Beliefs” and the program director for Her Holiness Sai Maa’s Transformational Healer’s Program. Sai Maa will be in Albany, NY at 7:30 pm Friday and Saturday July 6 and 7th, at the Albany Marriott, 189 Wolf Road, for a public program, “From Chaos to Clarity: Aligning with the Wisdom of Your Soul. There is a $20.00 donation suggested.

 

I myself has been a student of Sai Maa for 3 years and I just love, love, love, the effect that meditation has had on my life and my health. My health alone is so much better. I am happier and I would like to share this opportunity with you all. You can find out more about Sai Maa  at http://www.sai-maa.com

You can also find out more about the Albany program at that site.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Listen to Your Soul

Leave a Reply

