THE ART OF BLACK AND WHITE SILVER FILM PHOTOGRAPHY

There have been many well known black and white film photographers: Henri Cartier- Bresson,Mary Ellen Mark, Ansel Adams, Dorothea Lange and Brian Duffy to name just a few. When I began taking photographs as a kid I had a brownie and the smooth wide rolls of film that fit into it. I belonged to a family of  photographers. No one was a professional, but looking at the albums there are many, many photographs taken all over the world and almost all of them using black and white film.

I continued with film and when digital arrived I started learning that. I love photography, the  way it captures history in the moment. Think of all those truly famous photographs, Eugene Richards ”  grandmother cools off  beneath Brooklyn Bridge 1993 ” , Cassius Clay defeats Sonny Liston, Miami Beach, 1964, Bettmann/ Corbin  and of course the iconic photograph by Alfred Eisenstaedt ” V-J Day in Times Square, New York City, Aug 14, 1945″,with the sailor kissing the nurse, her back arched he bending over her in just that way , the whole angle view of the photograph is what makes it so great.

The time I spend in the darkroom is time I really enjoy. I tune the radio to our local University station WHSC, organize my equipment, whether I am developing film, loading it to the developing  cartridges in the dark not always easy, believe me, or readying the paper for printing, the sense of discovery, holding the film to the light being pleased with the result, that feels good.   I had the opportunity to join a black and white photography group where I could work on my darkroom skills as well as my photographic skills through my local Jefferson County Photographers. We got a grant from AHA, a local group that is very supportive of the Arts and took photos all around the county. We would have two shows a year and publish a book of our photographs. This has been a great opportunity for me and I am particularly grateful to our teacher and the  founder of our group Benita Keller. I include here a few photographs.

Leave a Reply

