AUTUMN COLORS ON THE BLUE RIDGE

As summer slipped away I found myself at first resisting the autumn chill yet no sooner did the lovely colors arrive and I said a quick hurray and went on. I drive east to Annapolis along the beautiful Rte 70 quite often and the trees there truly put on a show. So I decided to invite a friend and we went for a days drive down to Skyline Drive entering at Front Royal Virginia and wending our way along. We stopped at several of the overlooks. At the lower altitudes the trees were so colorful and as we drove higher the cloud cover blotted out the views and the air got wetter. We had a nice lunch at a store with a lunch counter  on the drive then we went on a bit, but the predicted rain was getting heavier and we decided to return home so we could beat the rush hour traffic.

What a glorious drive. The traffic was light and it was easy to pull

Skyline Dr, VA

Skyline Dr, VA

IMG_2121

Skyline Dr , VA

Skyline Dr , VA

over at the overlooks jump out,  take some photographs and enjoy the vistas and move on.

Today on NPR I heard the Skyline Dr recommendation for Fall colors. Yes I second that!!

Skyline Drive, VA

Skyline Drive, VA

8 thoughts on “AUTUMN COLORS ON THE BLUE RIDGE

  1. The leaves really are beautiful now, Sue. I haven’t made it yet to the Skyline Drive, but I went to Charlottesville yesterday, and the drive down 29 was gorgeous. Glad you made the trip, hopefully on a weekday!

      • That sounds wonderful. This is my favorite time of year for sure. All is well here. Just preparing to get back to blogging again after a long hiatus due to the intensive CELTA course I completed in September-October. 🙂 Happy Halloween to you too!

Leave a Reply

